ASIAN STUDIES FACULTY BY DEPARTMENT

 

Faculty members, please submit updates to the Asian Studies Center.

 

Anthropology - Classics - East Asian Languages and Literatures - East Asian Library - Economics - Education (School of) - English - Graduate School of Public & International Affairs - Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (School of) - History - History of Art & Architecture - Information Science - Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business - Law (School of) - Linguistics - Music - Pharmacy (School of) - Political Science - Religious Studies - Sociology - Emeritus Faculty

Anthropology

Joseph S. Alter (Professor)
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Area of Specialization: India
jsalter@pitt.edu


Loukas Barton (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of California, Davis
Area of Specialization: Archaeology of northeast Asia
loukas@pitt.edu


Laura Brown (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: South Asia
lcb32@pitt.edu


Nicole Constable (Professor)
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Area of Specialization: Chinese Society and Culture
constabl@pitt.edu

 

Robert D. Drennan (Professor)

PhD, University of Michigan

Area of Specialization: Eurasian Archeaology

drennan@pitt.edu

Robert Hayden (Professor)
PhD, State University of New York
Area of Specialization: India
rhayden@pitt.edu

Gabriella Lukacs (Assistant Professor)
PhD, Duke University
Area of Specialization: Japanologist and Specialist in Media Studies
lukacs@pitt.edu

Richard Scaglion (Professor)
PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Area of Specialization: Melanesia
scaglion@pitt.edu

Andrew Strathern (Andrew W. Mellon Professor)
PhD, Cambridge University
Area of Specialization: Pacific, Taiwan
strather@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Classics

Edwin D. Floyd (Associate Professor)
PhD, Princeton University
Area of Specialization: India
edfloyd@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

East Asian Languages and Literatures

Katherine Carlitz ( Adjunct Professor; Assistant Director of Academic Affairs, ASC; China Studies Coordinator)
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: Chinese Literature
kcarlitz@ucis.pitt.edu

 

William B. Crawford (Adjunct Associate Professor)
PhD, Indiana University
Area of Specialization: China
wbcraw@pitt.edu

 

Charles Exley (Assistant Professor)

PhD, Yale University

Area of Specialization: Modern Japanese Literature and Cinema

exley@pitt.edu

 

Fan Fan (Instructor)

Chinese Language

fanfan@pitt.edu


Sachiko Takabatake Howard (Assistant Instructor)
Japanese Language
showard@pitt.edu

Brenda G. Jordan (Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director of the National Coordinating Site for the National Consortium for Teaching About Asia (NCTA); Japan Studies Coordinator)
PhD, University of Kansas
Area of Specialization: Japanese Art and Architecture
jordanb@pitt.edu

Wan-Ching Hsieh (Assistant Instructor)
Chinese Language
wanhsieh@pitt.edu


Noriko Kanisawa Kowalchuck (Assistant Instructor)
Japanese Language
nokst2@pitt.edu

 

Mi-Hyun Kim (Visiting Lecturer)

PhD, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Korean Language

kimmh@pitt.edu

 

Cindy Lisica (Part-time Instructor)

PhD, University of the Arts London

Area of Specialization: Contemporary East Asian art

lisica@pitt.edu

 

Stephen P. Luft (Lecturer)

PhD, The Ohio State University

Area of specialization: Japanese linguistics and pedagogy

luft@pitt.edu

 

David O. Mills (Associate Professor)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: Japanese Linguistics and Pedagogy
dom@pitt.edu

Hiroshi Nara (Professor and Chair)
PhD, University of Kansas
Area of Specialization: Japanese Language and Linguistics
hnara@pitt.edu

Junzo Oshimo (Assistant Instructor)
Japanese Language
oshimo@pitt.edu

 

Kun Qian (Assistant Professor)

PhD, Cornell University

Area of Specialization: Modern Chinese Literature and Film

qiankun@pitt.edu

 

Cecile Chu-Chin Sun (Professor)
PhD, Indiana University (Bloomington)
Area of Specialization: Chinese Literature and Poetry
csun@pitt.edu

 

Juchun Wei (Assistant Instructor)

Chinese Language

juchun@pitt.edu

 

Yi Xu (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of Arizona
Area of Specialization: Chinese Language and Linguistics
xuyi@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

East Asian Library

Hiroyuki Nagahashi Good
Japanese Bibliographer
MLIS, University of California, Los Angeles
hng2@pitt.edu

Yu-Lien Lotus Liu
Library Specialist, East Asian Gateway Service
lliu@pitt.edu

Haihui Zhang

Chinese Bibliographer/Cataloger

MLS, Emporia State University

haihuiz@pitt.edu

 

Hong Xu (Head, East Asian Library)
PhD, University of Illinois
Library and Informational Science
hgxu@pitt.edu

Haihui Zhang
Chinese Bibliographer/Cataloger
haihuiz@pitt.edu

Xiuying Zou
Public Services Librarian
MLS, University of Pittsburgh
xiz42@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Economics


James H. Cassing (Professor)
PhD, University of Iowa
Area of Specialization: Indonesia
jcassing@pitt.edu

Steven Husted (Professor)
PhD, Michigan State University
Area of Specialization: Australia, Korea
husted1@pitt.edu


Thomas G. Rawski (Professor)
PhD, Harvard University
Economy of China and Japan
tgrawski@pitt.edu


Stephanie Wang (Assistant Professor)
PhD, Princeton University
Area of Specialization: China
swwang@pitt.edu

>> top

 

 

Education - School of

David Berman (Associate Professor)
Instruction and Learning

PhD, Pennsylvania State University
dmberman@pitt.edu

 

Richard Donato (Associate Professor)
Instruction & Learning
PhD, University of Delaware
donato@pitt.edu

 

James Jacob (Assistant Professor)
Director, Institute for International Studies in Education
Department of Administrative and Policy Studies
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
wjacob@pitt.edu


M. Najeeb Shafiq (Assistant Professor)
School of Education
PhD, Columbia University
mnshafiq@pitt.edu


John C. Weidman II (Professor)
Department of Administrative and Policy Studies
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: Asia
weidman@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

English Department

Neepa Majumdar(Assistant Professor)
Film Studies
PhD, Indiana University
Area of Specialization: South Asia
nmajumda@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (GSPIA)

Müge Kokten Finkel (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of Virginia
Area of Specialization: Japan
mfinkel@pitt.edu

 

Annemie Maertens (Assistant Professor)

PhD, Cornell University

Area of Specialization: India, South Asia

maertens@pitt.edu

 

Jennifer Brick Murtazashvili (Assistant Professor)

PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Area of Sepcialization: Afghanistan and Central Eurasia

jmurtaz@pitt.edu

 

Nita Rudra (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of California
Area of Specialization: India
rudra@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Health and Rehabilitation Sciences

Sajeesh Kumar (Assistant Professor)

PhD, University of Western Australia

Area of Specialization: India

skumar1@pitt.edu

 

 

History


Vincent Leung (Assistant Professor)
PhD, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: East Asia

vleung@pitt.edu

Evelyn Rawski (University Professor)
PhD, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: China
esrx@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

History Of Art and Architecture

Minglu Gao (Associate Professor)
PhD, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: Asia
minglu@pitt.edu

Karen Gerhart
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Kansas
Area of Specialization: Premodern Japanese Art and Architecture
kgerhart@pitt.edu

Katheryn M. Linduff (Professor)
PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Area of Specialization: Chinese Art History
linduff@pitt.edu


Mrinalini Rajagopalan (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of California, Berkeley
Area of Specialization: South Asia
mrr55@pitt.edu


 

>> top

 

 

Information Science

Daqing He (Associate Professor)
PhD, University of Edinburgh
Area of Specialization: Information retrieval and interactive retrieval-system design in Chinese and English
daqing@sis.pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business

Andrew Blair (Professor)
PhD, Fordham University
Area of Specialization: Japan
blair@pitt.edu

John Camillus (Professor)
DBA, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: India
camillus@katz.pitt.edu

Raghu Nath (Associate Professor)
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Area of Specialization: India
nath@pitt.edu

Dung Nguyen (Associate Professor)
PhD, University of Maryland
Area of Specialization: Philippines and Vietnam
nguyen@pitt.edu

Josephine Olson (Professor)
PhD, Brown University
Area of Specialization: Japan
jolson@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Law (School of)

Pat Chew (Professor of Law)
JD, University of Texas
Area of Specialization: China
patchew@pitt.edu

>> top

 

 

Linguistics

Alan Juffs (Associate Professor of Linguistics and Chair)
PhD, McGill University (Canada)
Area of Specialization: China
juffs@pitt.edu

David R. Mortersen (Assistant Professor)
PhD, University of California at Berkley
Area of Specialization: Southeast Asia
drm31@pitt.edu

Yasuhiro Shirai (Professor)
PhD, University of California at Los Angeles
Area of Specialization: Japan
yshirai@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Music

Andrew Weintraub (Associate Professor)
PhD, University of California, Berkley
Area of Specialization: Indonesia
anwein@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Pharmacy (School of)

Balwant N. Dixit (Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology)
PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Area of Specialization: India
bdixit@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Political Science

Pierre Landry (Associate Professor)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: East Asia
pflandry@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

 

Religious Studies

Milica Bakić-Hayden (Visiting Lecturer)
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: South Asia
milicabh@pitt.edu

Clark Chilson (Assistant Professor)
PhD, Lancaster University (UK)
Area of Specialization: Japan
chilson@pitt.edu

Linda Penkower(Associate Professor)
PhD, Columbia University
Area of Specialization: China, Japan
penkower@pitt.edu

>> top

 

 

Sociology

Akiko Hashimoto (Associate Professor)
PhD, Yale University
Area of Specialization: Japan
ahash@pitt.edu

Vijai Singh (Professor and Vice Chancellor)
PhD, University of Wisconsin
Area of Specialization: India
singh@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

Emeritus Faculty

Donald Adams (Professor, Education)
PhD, University of Connecticut
Area of Specialization: International and Development Education
dkadams@pitt.edu

Edward Anthony (Professor, Linguistics)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: Southeast Asia
ema1@pitt.edu

 

Dayle Barnes (Professor Emeritus, Chinese Language)
PhD, Georgetown University
Area of Specialization: Chinese Language and Sociolinguistics
barnes@pitt.edu

Davis Bobrow (Professor, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs)
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Area of Specialization: East Asian Foreign Policy and Security Studies
bobrow@pitt.edu

L. Keith Brown (Professor, Anthropology)
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: Japan
lkb@pitt.edu

Fred W. Clothey (Professor, Religious Studies)
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: India and South Asia
clothey@pitt.edu

Jack Donahue (Professor )
PhD, Columbia University
Area of Specialization: China, Geology and Planetary Science
jdonahue@pitt.edu

 

Donald Goldstein (Professor Emeritus)
PhD, University of Denver
Area of Specialization: China, Japan
goldy@pitt.edu

Paul Hammond (Distinguished Service Professor)
PhD, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: International Security Studies
pyh@pitt.edu

Burkart Holzner (Distinguished Service Professor of International Studies)
PhD, Bonn University
Area of Specialization: Comparative Studies
holzner@ucis.pitt.edu

Richard Hooley (Professor)
PhD, Columbia University
Area of Specialization: Southeast Asia
rhooley@pitt.edu

Helen Hopper (Adjunct Professor)
PhD, Washington University (St. Louis)
Area of Specialization: Japan
hopper@pitt.edu


Ann Jannetta (Professor of History)
PhD, University of Pittsburgh
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Japan
annj@pitt.edu

Michael J. Kolar (Professor of Mechanical Engineering)
PhD, Case Western Reserve University
Area of Specialization: Japan
majak@pitt.edu

Asatoshi Maeshiro (Professor of Economics)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: U.S.-Japan Economic Relations
jroha@pitt.edu

Chiao-Min Hsieh (Professor, Geography)
PhD, Syracuse University
Area of Specialization: China
chh57@pitt.edu

Cho-Yun Hsu (University Professor)
PhD, University of Chicago
Area of Specialization: China
cyhsu@pitt.edu

J. Thomas Rimer (Professor)
PhD, Columbia University
Area of Specialization: Japanese Literature and Theater
rimer@pitt.edu

Roland Robertson (Professor)
PhD, University of Leeds (England)
Area of Specialization: East Asia
rolandr@pitt.edu

John Singleton (Professor, Anthropology & Education)
PhD, Stanford University
Area of Specialization: Japan
jsin@pitt.edu

Mae Smethurst (Professor, Classics & EALL)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: Japan
msmet@pitt.edu


Richard Smethurst(Professor, History)
PhD, University of Michigan
Area of Specialization: Japan
rsmet@pitt.edu

Seth Spaulding (Professor, Education)
PhD, Ohio State University
Area of Specialization: Korean and International Education
seths@pitt.edu

Albert C. Van Dusen (Professor, Business, Education, Psychology)
PhD, Northwestern University
Area of Specialization: China, Japan, Korea
avanduse@pitt.edu

Bell Yung (Professor, Music)
PhD, Harvard University
Area of Specialization: China
byun@pitt.edu


Joseph J. Zasloff (Professor)
PhD, University of Geneva (Switzerland)
Area of Specialization: Southeast Asia
zasloff@pitt.edu

 

>> top

 

Updated February 13, 2014

Site Menu

Further Information

Asian Studies Center
University of Pittsburgh
4400 Posvar Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Phone: (412) 648-7370
Fax: (412) 624-4665
E-mail: asia@pitt.edu
Web: http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/asc