Affiliated Faculty

Over 200 University of Pittsburgh faculty members are affiliated with the Global Studies Center. Their teaching expertise and research specializations support the content of GSC's six concentrations. Each academic year, they teach hundreds of courses on global themes in 35 departments and schools. If you are interested in becoming a faculty affiliate of the GSC and your research and teaching foci relate at least 25 percent to the Center’s focus areas (global economy, global health, global security and global society) using a trans-regional or comparative (two or more world regions) as well as interdisciplinary approach to critical global issues within these focus areas, please send a completed faculty affiliate form (download here) and your current CV to Veronica Dristas (dristas@pitt.edu412-624-2918). The faculty affiliate form and the applicant’s current CV must be received prior to confirmation of faculty affiliate status. Please contact Veronica Dristas with any questions.

Arts and Sciences

Africana Studies | Anthropology| Biological Sciences | Classics | Communication | East Asian Languages and Literatures | Economics | English | French and Italian Languages and Literatures | Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies | Geology and Planetary Science | Germanic Languages and Literatures | Hispanic Languages and Literatures | History | History and Philosophy of Science | History of Art and Architecture | Linguistics | Music | Philosophy| Political Science | Religious Studies | Slavic Languages and Literatures | Sociology | Theatre Arts | Urban Studies

Business
Education
Engineering
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Information Sciences
Law
Medicine
Nursing
Public and International Affairs
Public Health
Social Work
University Library System
Regional Campuses
Global Studies Core Instructors

School of Arts and Sciences (http://www.as.pitt.edu)

Africana Studies (http://www.africanastudies.pitt.edu)

  • Covington, Yolanda - Assistant Professor, ydc1@pitt.edu, 412-648-7556
  • Reid-Vazquez, Michele — Assistant Professor, mbr31@pitt.edu, 412-648-2143
  • Sharif, Oronde S. — Lecturer and Major Advisor, senegal1@pitt.edu, 412-648-2276
  • Temple, Christel — Professor, cnt15@pitt.edu, 412-648-7069

Anthropology (http://www.anthropology.pitt.edu)

Biological Sciences (http://www.biology.pitt.edu)

Classics (http://www.classics.pitt.edu)

Communication (http://www.comm.pitt.edu)

East Asian Languages and Literatures (http://www.deall.pitt.edu)

  • Crawford, William B. — Part-Time Instructor, wcrawford@katz.pitt.edu, 412-624-5568
  • Exley, Charles — Assistant Professor, exley@pitt.edu, 412-648-4025
  • Lisica, Cindy T. — Part-time instructor; Adjunct Faculty, lisica@pitt.edu, 412-624-3524
  • Mills, David O. — Associate Professor, dom@pitt.edu, 412-624-0559
  • Nara, Hiroshi — Professor; Chair, Japanese Language and Linguistics, hnara@pitt.edu, 412-624-5579
  • Oshimo, Junzo — Assistant Instructor, oshimo@pitt.edu, 412-624-5126
  • Sun, Cecile Chu-Chin — Professor, csun@pitt.edu, 412-624-5567
  • Wei, Juchun (Vanessa) – Assistant Instructor of Chinese; juchun@pitt.edu, 412-624-7141

Economics (http://www.econ.pitt.edu)

  • Berkowitz, Daniel — Professor, dmberk@pitt.edu, 412-648-7072
  • DeJong, David N. — Professor; Vice Provost for Academic Planning and Resources Management, dejong@pitt.edu, 412-648-2242
  • Maksymenko, Svitlana — Lecturer, maks@pitt.edu, 412-383-8155
  • Rawski, Thomas G. — Professor, tgrawski@pitt.edu, 412-648-7062
  • Ripoll, Marla  — Associate Professor, ripoll@pitt.edu, 412-648-2243

English (http://www.english.pitt.edu)

French and Italian Languages and Literatures (http://www.frenchanditalian.pitt.edu)

  • Blumenfeld-Kosinski, Renate — Distinguished Professor, renate@pitt.edu, 412-624-5220
  • Doshi, Neil — Assistant Professor, doshi@pitt.edu, 412-624-6260
  • Hogg, Chloe — Assistant Professor, hoggca@pitt.edu, 412-624-6266
  • Insana, Lina — Associate Professor, Chair, insana@pitt.edu, 412-624-6269
  • Reeser, Todd W. — Professor; Associate Director, Humanities Center, reeser@pitt.edu, 412 648-6258
  • Savoia, Francesca — Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Italian, savoia@pitt.edu, 412-624-6265
  • Walsh, John — Assistant Professor, Co-Director of Undergradaute Studies in French, jpw64@pitt.edu, 412-624-6223
  • Wells, Brett — Senior Lecturer, wellsb@pitt.edu, 412-624-6261

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies (http://www.wstudies.pitt.edu/)

Geology and Planetary Science (http://www.geology.pitt.edu)

Germanic Languages and Literatures (http://www.german.pitt.edu)

  • Colin, Amy — Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies for Minors, paxpeace@pitt.edu, 412-624-5841
  • Halle, Randall — Klaus W. Jonas Professor of German Film and Cultural Studies, rhalle@pitt.edu, 412-648-2614
  • Lyon, John B. — Professor; Chair, jblyon@pitt.edu, 412-624-5839
  • Muenzer, Clark S. — Associate Professor, muenzer@pitt.edu, 412-624-5840
  • Von Dirke, Sabine — Associate Professor; vondirke@pitt.edu, 412-624-0992

Hispanic Languages and Literatures (http://www.hispanic.pitt.edu)

  • Beverley, John R. — Distinguished Professor of Hispanic Languages and Literatures, brq@pitt.edu, 412-624-6382
  • Branche, Jerome — Associate Professor, branche@pitt.edu, 412-624-5468
  • Carvalho, Ana Paula — Coordinator, Portuguese language, apcst11@pitt.edu, 412-624-3747
  • Chamberlain, Bobby J. — Associate Professor, chambln@pitt.edu, 412-624-3991

History (http://www.history.pitt.edu)

History and Philosophy of Science (http://www.hps.pitt.edu)

  • Palmieri, Paolo — Associate Professor, pap7@pitt.edu, 412-624-5881

History of Art and Architecture (http://www.haa.pitt.edu)

  • Armstrong, Christopher Drew — Associate Professor, cda68@pitt.edu, 412-648-2101
  • Bender, Gretchen Holtzapple — Lecturer, ghb1@pitt.edu, 412-648-2394
  • Jordan, Brenda G. — Adjunct Assistant Professor, jordanb@pitt.edu, 412-648-7763
  • McCloskey, Barbara — Associate Professor; Department Chair, barbara.mccloskey@pitt.edu, 412-648-2418
  • Rajagopalan, Mrinalini- Assistant Professor, mrr55@pitt.edu, 412-648-2400
  • Smith, Terence E. — Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, tes2@pitt.edu, 412-648-2404

Linguistics (http://www.linguistics.pitt.edu)

Music (http://www.music.pitt.edu)

  • Ayyagari, Shalini — Assistant Professor, sayyagari@pitt.edu
  • Helbig, Adriana — Associate Professor, Undergraduate Advisor Ethnomusicology, anh59@pitt.edu, 412- 624-4193
  • Root, Deane L. — Professor, Chair, dlr@pitt.edu, 412-624-4126
  • Weintraub, Andrew N. — Professor, anwein@pitt.edu, 412-624-4184

Philosophy (http://www.philosophy.pitt.edu)

Political Science (http://www.polisci.pitt.edu)

  • Alexiadou, Despina — Assistant Professor, dalexiad@pitt.edu, 412-648-7265
  • Ames, Barry C. — Andrew W. Mellon Professor; Chair, barrya@pitt.edu, 412-648-7276
  • Aklin, Michaël — Assistant Professor, aklin@pitt.edu, 412-648-7250
  • Donno, Daniela — Associate Professor, Directorof Graduate Studies, donno@pitt.edu, 412-648-7259
  • Finkel, Steven E. — Daniel Wallace Professor of Political Science, finkel@pitt.edu, 412-648-7283
  • Gochman, Charles S. — Associate Professor, gochman@pitt.edu, 412-648-7271
  • Goodhart, Michael E. — Associate Professor, Director, Global Studies Center, goodhart@pitt.edu, 412-624-4478
  • Hays, Jude — Associate Professor, jch61@pitt.edu, 412-648-7353
  • Kabala, Stanley J. — Instructor, stank@pitt.edu, 412-648-7625
  • Linden, Ronald H. — Professor, linden@pitt.edu, 412-648-7258
  • Morgenstern, Scott J. — Associate Professor, smorgens@pitt.edu, 412-648-7288
  • Paler, Laura — Assistant Professor, lpaler@pitt.edu, 412-648-7250
  • Perez-Linan, Anibal — Professor, asp27@pitt.edu, 412-648-7291
  • Peters, Brainard Guy — Professor; Maurice Falk Professor of American Government, bgpeters@pitt.edu, 412-648-7286
  • Savun, Burcu — Associate Professor, burcu@pitt.edu, 412-648-7281
  • Sbragia, Alberta —Jean Monnet Chair, Professor, Vice Provost for Graduate Studies, sbragia@pitt.edu, 412-624-2137

Religious Studies (http://www.religiousstudies.pitt.edu)

  • Bakic-Hayden, Milica — Lecturer, milicabh@pitt.edu, 412-624-2280
  • Chilson, Clark – Associate Professor; chilson@pitt.edu, 412-624-5977
  • Denova, Rebecca — Visiting Lecturer, rid4@pitt.edu, 412-624-5989
  • Edwards, Steven Anthony — Associate Professor, tedwards@pitt.edu, 412-624-2053
  • Feig, Haya S. — Lecturer, feig@pitt.edu, 412-624-5748
  • Jouili, Jeanette — Assistant Professor, jouili@pitt.edu, 412-624-2790
  • Kane, Paula M. — Associate Professor; Marous Chair in Contemporary Catholicism, pmk@pitt.edu, 412-624-2278
  • Penkower, Linda — Associate Professor; Chair, penkower@pitt.edu, 412-624-2277
  • Shear, Adam B. — Associate Professor; Director, Undergraduate Studies, ashear@pitt.edu, 412-624-2280

Slavic Languages and Literatures (http://www.slavic.pitt.edu)

  • Birnbaum, David — Professor; Chair, djbpitt@pitt.edu, 412-624-5712
  • Condee, Nancy — Professor; Director, Graduate Studies; Director, PittMAP Program, condee@pitt.edu, 412-624-5706
  • Padunov, Vladimir — Associate Professor; Associate Director, Film Studies Program, padunov@pitt.edu, 412-624-5713
  • Swan, Oscar — Professor; swan@pitt.edu, 412-624-5707
  • Votruba, Martin — Senior Lecturer, votruba@pitt.edu, 412-624-5705

Sociology (http://www.sociology.pitt.edu)

  • Bamyeh, Mohammed — Professor, mab205@pitt.edu, 412-648-7591
  • Blee, Kathleen M. — Distinguished Professor; Chair, kblee@pitt.edu, 412-648-7590
  • Hughes, Melanie — Associate Professor, hughesm@pitt.edu, 412-383-9488
  • Markoff, John — Distinguished University Professor, Chair, jm2@pitt.edu, 412-648-7570
  • Smith, Jackie — Professor, jgsmith@pitt.edu, 412-648-7594

Theatre Arts (http://www.play.pitt.edu)

  • Granshaw, Michelle — Assistant Professor, mkg31@pitt.edu, 412-624-6467
  • Jackson-Schebetta, Lisa — Assistant Professor, Director of Graduate Studies; lisajsch@pitt.edu, 412-624-6659
  • Schebetta, Dennis — Assistant Professor, Head of MFA Performance Pedagogy, dennis72@pitt.edu, 412-624-6466

Urban Studies (http://www.urbanstudies.pitt.edu)

College of Business Administration and the Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business (http://www.business.pitt.edu)

School of Education (http://www.education.pitt.edu)

School of Engineering (http://www.engineering.pitt.edu)

  • Beck, Joseph R. — Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director, Construction Management Program, jrb15@pitt.edu, 412-624-5735
  • Bidanda, Bopaya — Professor; Chair, Ernest E. Roth Professor of Industrial Engineering, bidanda@pitt.edu, 412-624-9830
  • Casson, Leonard W. — Associate Professor, casson@pitt.edu, 412-624-9868
  • Liang, Xu — Professor, xuliang@pitt.edu, 412-624-9872
  • Lin, Jeen-Shang — Associate Professor, jslin@pitt.edu, 412-624-8158
  • Shuman, Larry J. — Professor; Distinguished Service Professor, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, shuman@pitt.edu, 412-624-9815
  • Vallejo, Luis E. — Professor, vallejo@civ.pitt.edu, 412-624-9884
  • Vidic, Radisav D. — Professor; Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering; William Kepler Whiteford Faculty Fellow, vidic@pitt.edu, 412-624-9870

School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (http://www.shrs.pitt.edu)

  • Cohn, Ellen — Associate Professor; Associate Dean of Instructional Development, ecohn@pitt.edu, 412-383-6609

School of Information Sciences (http://www.ischool.pitt.edu)

School of Law (http://www.law.pitt.edu)

  • Ala Hamoudi, Haider — Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, hamoudi@pitt.edu, 412-624-1055
  • Baylis, Elena A. — Associate Professor, ebaylis@pitt.edu, 412-624-2829
  • Brand, Ronald A. — Academic Director, CILE; Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg University Professor and John E. Murray Faculty Scholar
    am, rbrand@pitt.edu, 412-648-1307
  • Branson, Douglas Michael — W. Edward Sell Professor of Business Law, branson@pitt.edu, 412-624-3437
  • Brostoff, Teresa Kissane — Associate Professor; Director, Legal Writing Program, brostoff@pitt.edu , 412-648-2364
  • Chew, Patricia K. — Judge J. Quint Salmon and Anne Salmon Chaired Professor, patch1@pitt.edu, 412-648-1387
  • Curran, Vivian — Distinguished Professor of Law, vcurran@pitt.edu, 412-648-1393
  • Flechtner, Harry Marshall — Professor, flecht@pitt.edu, 412-648-1395
  • Hibbitts, Bernard J. — Professor, hibbitts@pitt.edu, 412-648-2360
  • Infanti, Anthony C. — Professor of Law; Buchanan, Ingersoll & Rooney Faculty Scholar, 412-648-1244
  • Lebowitz, Lawrence M. — Adjunct Professor, lml9@pitt.edu, 412-648-1400
  • Lobel, Jules — Professor, jil4@pitt.edu, 412-648-1375
  • Madison, Michael J. — Faculty Director, Innovation Practice Institute; Professor of Law, madison@pitt.edu, 412-648-7855
  • Sinsheimer, Ann M. —Professor of Legal Writing, ans24@pitt.edu, 412-648-1281
  • Sirleaf, Matiangai — Assistant Professor of Law, matiangai.sirleaf@pitt.edu

School of Medicine (http://www.medschool.pitt.edu)

  • Bui, Thuy D. — Associate Professor of Medicine, Director Global Health Residency, buit@upmc.edu, 412 692-4888 
  • Erlen, Jonathon — Assistant Professor; Health Sciences Library System Librarian, History of Medicine, erlen@pitt.edu, 412-648-8927
  • Lattanzi, Daniel R. — Clinical Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology, drl27@pitt.edu, 412 942-3590
  • Pinkus, Rosa Lynn — Professor, pinkus@pitt.edu, 412-647-5822
  • Veldkamp, Peter — Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Education, Division of Infectious Diseases, veldkampp@dom.pitt.edu, 412-647-5399

School of Nursing (http://www.nursing.pitt.edu)

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (http://www.gspia.pitt.edu)

Graduate School of Public Health (http://www.publichealth.pitt.edu)

  • Frank, Linda Rose — Professor, frankie@pitt.edu, 412-624-1895
  • Keane, Christopher R. — Assistant Professor, crkcity@pitt.edu, 412-624-3128
  • Kingsley, Lawrence A. — Professor, kingsley@pitt.edu, 412-624-5069
  • Kriska, Andrea M. — Professor, aky@pitt.edu, 412-624-3996
  • Longest, Jr., Beaufort Brown — Professor, longest@pitt.edu, 412-624-6104
  • McDonald, Margaret C. — Associate Professor, mmaggie@pitt.edu, 412-383-7474
  • Parker, Lisa S. — Professor, Human Genetics; Director, Master of Arts Program in Bioethics; Director of Graduate Education, Center for Bioethics & Health Law, lisap@pitt.edu, 412-647-5780
  • Sharma, Ravi K. — Assistant Professor, rks1946@pitt.edu, 412-624-3615
  • Songer, Thomas J. — Assistant Professor, tjs@pitt.edu, 412-648-9296
  • Stall, Ronald — Professor, rstall@pitt.edu, 412-624-7933
  • Terry, Martha A. — Associate Professor, Behavioral and Community Health Sciences, materry@pitt.edu, 412-624-5887

School of Social Work (http://www.socialwork.pitt.edu)

  • Fusco, Rachel A. — Chair, Direct Practice Concentration, Associate Professor, School of Social Work and Clincial & Translational Science Institute, raf45@pitt.edu, 412-624-0173
  • Goodkind, Sara — Associate Professor, sara.goodkind@pitt.edu, 412-648-9432
  • Rauktis, Mary — Research Assistant Professor, mar104@pitt.edu, 412-648-1225

University Library System (http://www.library.pitt.edu)

  • Kepes, Lois — Liaison Librarian, lois@pitt.edu, 412-648-7578
  • Pennell, Daniel M. — Bibliographer for Russian, East European, Germanic and Global Studies, pennell@pitt.edu, 412-648-7791

Regional Pitt Campuses

  • de Vries-Jordan, Helma — Assistant Professor; University of Pittsburgh - Bradford, hdevries@pitt.edu, 814-362-7586
  • Gajanan, Shailendra — Professor; Department of Business Management & Education, sng1@pitt.edu, 814-368-6715

Global Studies Core Course Instructors

  • Salter, Cynthia — Instructor, 4106 Posvar Hall, cys6@pitt.edu, 412-648-7409
  • Rouse, Roger — Visiting Instructor, 4100 Posvar Hall, rogrouse@pitt.edu, 412-251-0327
Copyright 2017 | Global Studies Center, University of Pittsburgh