Affiliated Faculty

Over 200 University of Pittsburgh faculty members are affiliated with the Global Studies Center. Their teaching expertise and research specializations support the content of GSC's six concentrations. Each academic year, they teach hundreds of courses on global themes in 35 departments and schools. If you are interested in becoming a faculty affiliate of the GSC and your research and teaching foci relate at least 25 percent to the Center’s focus areas (global economy, global health, global security and global society) using a trans-regional or comparative (two or more world regions) as well as interdisciplinary approach to critical global issues within these focus areas, please send a completed faculty affiliate form (download here) and your current CV to Veronica Dristas (dristas@pitt.edu412-624-2918). The faculty affiliate form and the applicant’s current CV must be received prior to confirmation of faculty affiliate status. Please contact Veronica Dristas with any questions.

Arts and Sciences

Africana Studies | Anthropology| Biological Sciences | Classics | Communication | East Asian Languages and Literatures | Economics | English | French and Italian Languages and Literatures | Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies | Geology and Planetary Science | Germanic Languages and Literatures | Hispanic Languages and Literatures | History | History and Philosophy of Science | History of Art and Architecture | Linguistics | Music | Philosophy| Political Science | Religious Studies | Slavic Languages and Literatures | Sociology | Theatre Arts | Urban Studies

Business
Education
Engineering
Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
Information Sciences
Law
Medicine
Nursing
Public and International Affairs
Public Health
Social Work
University Library System
Regional Campuses
Global Studies Core Instructors

School of Arts and Sciences (http://www.as.pitt.edu)

Africana Studies (http://www.africanastudies.pitt.edu)

Anthropology (http://www.anthropology.pitt.edu)

  • Allen, Kathleen M.S. — Senior Lecturer, kmallen@pitt.edu, 412-648-7511
  • Alter, Joseph S. — Professor; Chair, jsalter@pitt.edu, 412-648-8078
  • Barton, Loukas W. — Assistant Professor, loukas@pitt.edu, 412-648-2247
  • Bermann, Marc P. — Associate Professor, bermarc@pitt.edu, 412-648-7515
  • Brown, Laura C. — Assistant Professor, lcb32@pitt.edu, 412-648-7500
  • Constable, Nicole — Professor; Director, Asian Studies Center, constable@fcas.pitt.edu, 412-648-8846
  • de Montmollin, Olivier — Associate Professor, olly@pitt.edu, 412-624-7112
  • DeWalt, Kathleen M. — Professor; Director, Center for Latin American Studies of the University Center for International Studies, kmdewalt@pitt.edu, 412-648-7551
  • Drennan, Robert — Distinguished Professor , drennan@pitt.edu, 412-648-7507
  • Frechione, John — Research Associate Professor; CLAS Associate Director, Research and Development, jfrech@pitt.edu, 412-648-7395
  • Hanks, Bryan K. — Associate Professor; Dept Chair, bkh5@pitt.edu, 412-648-7524
  • Hayden, Robert M.S. — Professor, rhayden@pitt.edu, 412-648-8847
  • Kao, Philip — Postdoctoral Fellow, pyk2@pitt.edu, 412-648-7500
  • Sanabria, Harry — Associate Professor, sanabria@pitt.edu, 412-648-7500
  • Scaglion, Richard — Professor, scaglion@pitt.edu, 412-648-7512
  • Strathern, Andrew J. — Andrew W. Mellon Professor, strather@pitt.edu, 412-648-7519

Biological Sciences (http://www.biology.pitt.edu)

Classics (http://www.classics.pitt.edu)

Communication (http://www.comm.pitt.edu)

East Asian Languages and Literatures (http://www.deall.pitt.edu)

  • Carlitz, Katherine — Adjunct Professor; Assistant Director, Academic Affairs; Coordinator, China Studies for Asian Studies Center of the University Center for International Studies, kcarlitz@pitt.edu, 412-648-7371
  • Crawford, William B. — Part-time lecturer, wcrawford@katz.pitt.edu, 412-624-5568
  • Exley, Charles — Assistant Professor, exley@pitt.edu, 412-648-4025
  • Lisica, Cindy T. — Part-time instructor; Adjunct Faculty, lisica@pitt.edu, 412-624-3524
  • Mills, David O. — Associate Professor, dom@pitt.edu, 412-624-0559
  • Nara, Hiroshi — Professor; Chair, Japanese Language and Linguistics, hnara@pitt.edu, 412-624-5579
  • Oshimo, Junzo — Assistant Instructor, oshimo@pitt.edu, 412-624-5126
  • Sun, Cecile Chu-Chin — Professor, csun@pitt.edu, 412-624-5567
  • Wei, Juchun – Instructor; juchun@pitt.edu, 412-624-7141

Economics (http://www.econ.pitt.edu)

English (http://www.english.pitt.edu)

French and Italian Languages and Literatures (http://www.frenchanditalian.pitt.edu)

Gender, Sexuality and Women's Studies (http://www.wstudies.pitt.edu/)

Geology and Planetary Science (http://www.geology.pitt.edu)

Germanic Languages and Literatures (http://www.german.pitt.edu)

  • Colin, Amy — Associate Professor, adc@pitt.edu, 412-624-5841
  • Halle, Randall — Klaus W. Jonas Professor of German Film and Cultural Studies, rhalle@pitt.edu, 412-648-2614
  • Lyon, John B. — Associate Professor; Chair, jblyon@pitt.edu, 412-624-5839
  • Muenzer, Clark S. — Associate Professor, muenzer@pitt.edu, 412-624-5840
  • Von Dirke, Sabine — Associate Professor; vondirke@pitt.edu, 412-624-0992
  • Waeltermann, Dieter — Professor, lorca@pitt.edu, 412-624-5944

Hispanic Languages and Literatures (http://www.hispanic.pitt.edu)

  • Beverley, John R. — Distinguished Professor of Hispanic Languages and Literatures, brq@pitt.edu, 412-624-6382
  • Branche, Jerome — Associate Professor, branche@pitt.edu, 412-624-5468
  • Carvalho, Ana Paula — Coordinator, Portuguese language, apcst11@pitt.edu, 412-624-3747
  • Chamberlain, Bobby J. — Associate Professor, chambln@pitt.edu, 412-624-3991

History (http://www.history.pitt.edu)

History and Philosophy of Science (http://www.hps.pitt.edu)

  • Palmieri, Paolo — Associate Professor, pap7@pitt.edu, 412-624-5881

History of Art and Architecture (http://www.haa.pitt.edu)

  • Armstrong, Christopher Drew — Associate Professor, cda68@pitt.edu, 412-648-2101
  • Bender, Gretchen Holtzapple — Lecturer, ghb1@pitt.edu, 412-648-2394
  • Jordan, Brenda G. — Adjunct Assistant Professor, jordanb@pitt.edu, 412-648-7763
  • McCloskey, Barbara — Associate Professor; Department Chair, bmcc@pitt.edu, 412-648-2418
  • Rajagopalan, Mrinalini- Assistant Professor, mrr55@pitt.edu, 412-648-2400
  • Smith, Terence E. — Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory, tes2@pitt.edu, 412-648-2404
  • Weaver, Carrie — Postdoctoral Fellow, clweaver@pitt.edu, 412-648-2400

Linguistics (http://www.linguistics.pitt.edu)

Music (http://www.music.pitt.edu)

Philosophy (http://www.philosophy.pitt.edu)

Political Science (http://www.polisci.pitt.edu)

Religious Studies (http://www.religiousstudies.pitt.edu)

  • Bakic-Hayden, Milica — Lecturer, rees140@pitt.edu, 412-624-2280
  • Chilson, Clark – Associate Professor; chilson@pitt.edu, 412-624-5977
  • Denova, Rebecca — Visiting Lecturer, rid4@pitt.edu, 412-624-5989
  • Edwards, Steven Anthony — Associate Professor, tedwards@pitt.edu, 412-624-2053
  • Feig, Haya S. — Lecturer, feig@pitt.edu, 412-624-5748
  • Jouili, Jeanette — Assistant Professor, jouili@pitt.edu, 412-624-2790
  • Kane, Paula M. — Associate Professor; Marous Chair in Contemporary Catholicism, pmk@pitt.edu, 412-624-2278
  • Penkower, Linda — Associate Professor; Chair, penkower@pitt.edu, 412-624-2277
  • Shear, Adam B. — Associate Professor; Director, Undergraduate Studies, ashear@pitt.edu, 412-624-2280

Slavic Languages and Literatures (http://www.slavic.pitt.edu)

  • Birnbaum, David — Professor; Chair, djbpitt@pitt.edu, 412-624-5712
  • Condee, Nancy — Associate Professor; Director, Graduate Studies; Director, PittMAP Program, condee@pitt.edu, 412-624-5706
  • Padunov, Vladimir — Associate Professor; Associate Director, Film Studies Program, padunov@pitt.edu, 412-624-5713
  • Swan, Oscar — Professor; swan@pitt.edu, 412-624-5707
  • Votruba, Martin — Senior Lecturer, votruba@pitt.edu, 412-624-5705

Sociology (http://www.sociology.pitt.edu)

Theatre Arts (http://www.play.pitt.edu)

Urban Studies (http://www.urbanstudies.pitt.edu)

College of Business Administration and the Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business (http://www.business.pitt.edu)

  • Atkin, Robert S. — Professor of Business Administration, atkin@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1641
  • Camillus, John C. — Donald R Beall Professor of Strategic Management, camillus@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1599
  • Craft, James A. — Professor, craft@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1680
  • Dennehy, Daniel J. — Visiting Lecturer, djdennehy@comcast.net, 412-683-1099
  • Feick, Lawrence — Professor; Senior Director of International Programs; Director, University Center for International Studies; feick@pitt.edu, 412-648-7374
  • Florkowski, Gary W. — Associate Professor, gwf@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1626
  • Madhavan, Ravindranath — Professor, ram115@pitt.edu, 412-648-1530
  • Mitnick, Barry M. — Professor, mitnick@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1555
  • Murrell, Audrey J. — Associate Professor; Director, David Berg Center for Ethics and Leadership. amurrell@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1651
  • Olson, Josephine E. — Professor of Business Administration; Director, International Business Center, jolson@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1715
  • Prescott, John E. — Professor, Thomas O'Brien Chair of Strategy, prescott@katz.pitt.edu, 412-648-1573

School of Education (http://www.education.pitt.edu)

School of Engineering (http://www.engineering.pitt.edu)

  • Beck, Joseph R. — Adjunct Assistant Professor; Director, Construction Management Program, jrb15@pitt.edu, 412-624-5735
  • Bidanda, Bopaya — Professor; Chair, Ernest E. Roth Professor of Industrial Engineering, bidanda@pitt.edu, 412-624-9830
  • Casson, Leonard W. — Associate Professor, casson@engr.pitt.edu, 412-624-9868
  • Liang, Xu — Professor, xuliang@pitt.edu, 412-624-9872
  • Lin, Jeen-Shang — Associate Professor, jslin@engr.pitt.edu, 412-624-8158
  • Shuman, Larry J. — Professor; Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, shuman@pitt.edu, 412-624-9815
  • Vallejo, Luis E. — Professor, vallejo@civ.pitt.edu, 412-624-9884
  • Vidic, Radisav D. — Professor; Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering; William Kepler Whiteford Faculty Fellow, vidic@civ.pitt.edu, 412-624-9870

School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (http://www.shrs.pitt.edu)

  • Cohn, Ellen — Associate Professor; Associate Dean of Instructional Development, ecohn@pitt.edu, 412-383-6609
  • Seelman, Katherine Delores — Professor; Associate Dean, Disability Programs, kds31@pitt.edu, 412-383-6727

School of Information Sciences (http://www.ischool.pitt.edu)

School of Law (http://www.law.pitt.edu)

School of Medicine (http://www.medschool.pitt.edu)

  • Bui, Thuy D. — Associate Professor of Medicine, Director Global Health Residency, buit@upmc.edu, 412 692-4888 
  • Erlen, Jonathon — Assistant Professor; Health Sciences Library System Librarian, History of Medicine, erlen@pitt.edu, 412-648-8927
  • Lattanzi, Daniel R. — Clinical Associate Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology, lattanzidr@upmc.edu, 412 942-3590
  • Pinkus, Rosa Lynn — Professor, pinkus@pitt.edu, 412-647-5822
  • Veldkamp, Peter — Associate Professor of Medicine, Director of Education, Division of Infectious Diseases, veldkampp@dom.pitt.edu, 412-647-5399

School of Nursing (http://www.nursing.pitt.edu)

  • Constantino, Rose E. — Associate Professor, rco100@pitt.edu, 412-624-2063
  • Mitchell, Ann M. — Associate Professor, ammi@pitt.edu, 412-624-9005

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (http://www.gspia.pitt.edu)

Graduate School of Public Health (http://www.publichealth.pitt.edu)

  • Bunker, Clareann H. — Assistant Professor, bunkerc@pitt.edu, 412-624-3467
  • Frank, Linda Rose — Assistant Professor, frankie@pitt.edu, 412-624-1895
  • Keane, Christopher R. — Assistant Professor, crkcity@pitt.edu, 412-624-3128
  • Kingsley, Lawrence A. — Associate Professor, kingsley@pitt.edu, 412-624-5069
  • Kriska, Andrea M. — Associate Professor, aky@pitt.edu, 412-624-3996
  • LaPorte, Ronald E. — Professor, rlaporte@pitt.edu, 412-383-2746
  • Longest, Jr., Beaufort Brown — Professor, longest@pitt.edu, 412-624-6104
  • McDonald, Margaret C. — Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, mmcdonald@hs.pitt.edu, 412-383-7474
  • Parker, Lisa S. — Associate Professor; Director, Graduate Education, lisap@pitt.edu, 412-647-5780
  • Redmond, Carol K. — Distinguished Service Professor of Public Health, ckr3@pitt.edu, 412-624-1319
  • Sharma, Ravi K. — Assistant Professor, rks1946@pitt.edu, 412-624-3615
  • Songer, Thomas J. — Assistant Professor, tjs@pitt.edu, 412-648-9296
  • Stall, Ronald — Professor, rstall@pitt.edu, 412-624-7933
  • Terry, Martha A. — Assistant Professor, materry@pitt.edu, 412-624-5887
  • Tull, Eugene S. — Assistant Professor, est@pitt.edu, 412-624-2961

School of Social Work (http://www.socialwork.pitt.edu)

  • Fusco, Rachel A. — Associate Professor, raf45@pitt.edu, 412-624-0173
  • Goodkind, Sara — Associate Professor, sag51@pitt.edu, 412-648-9432
  • Rauktis, Mary — Research Assistant Professor, mar104@pitt.edu, 412-648-1225

University Library System (http://www.library.pitt.edu)

  • Kepes, Lois — Liaison Librarian, lois@pitt.edu, 412-648-7578
  • Pennell, Daniel M. — Bibliographer for Russian, East European, Germanic and Global Studies, pennell@pitt.edu, 412-648-7791

Regional Pitt Campuses

  • de Vries-Jordan — Assistant Professor; University of Pittsburgh - Bradford, hdevries@pitt.edu, 814-362-7586
  • Fornoff, Frederick H. — University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown, Professor, Spanish and Humanities, ffornoff@pitt.edu, 814-269-7150
  • Gajanan, Shailendra — Professor; Dept. of Business Management & Education, sng1@pitt.edu, 814-368-6715

Global Studies Core Course Instructors

  • Salter, Cynthia — Instructor, 4106 Posvar Hall, cys6@pitt.edu, 412-648-7409
  • Rouse, Roger — Instructor, 4100 Posvar Hall, rogrouse@pitt.edu, 412-251-0327
Copyright 2017 | Global Studies Center, University of Pittsburgh