Masterclass on Eurasia

COVID-19 Response

COVID-19 Response: Learn how the Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies is working under the current operational posture at ucis.pitt.edu/creees/covid.

The Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies Center at the University of Pittsburgh is proud to offer an online masterclass series focused on Eurasian studies. The series provides a forum for experts to offer an instructional introduction to a specialized form of knowledge. The workshops are eclectic in terms of topics, but are united by the fact that they each offer a path toward skills and techniques not easily learnable in books or even a university classroom. These workshops offer an opportunity for doctoral students and scholars to expand their intellectual horizons, as well as a glimpse "under the hood" into cutting-edge research. This series is co-sponsored by the Asian Studies Center at Pitt, the Central Eurasian Studies Society, and the Consortium for Educational Resources on Islamic Studies.

PLEASE NOTE that registrations are limited and will be confirmed on a first-come, first-serve basis for Ph.D. students and faculty who work on Eurasia and can meet the language prerequisites specific to each topic.
 

THURSDAYS, MARCH 4 AND 11
Reading Safavid Occult-Scientific Miscellanies

9-10:30 a.m. (EST) | 8-9:30 a.m. (CST) | 2-3:30 p.m. (GMT) | 3:00-4:30 p.m. (CET) 4-5:30 p.m. (EET) | 5-6:30 p.m. (MSK) | 5:30-7 p.m. (IRST) | 8-9:30 p.m. (ALMT)
REGISTER

FRIDAYS, MARCH 26, APRIL 2, AND APRIL 9
Transcultural Codicology on the Silk Road

3-4:00 p.m. (EDT) | 2-3:00 p.m. (CDT) | 12-1:00 p.m. (PDT)

REGISTRATION CLOSED

THURSDAY, APRIL 15
Demystifying Diplomatic Communication in Early Modern Russia

12-1:30pm (EDT) | 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (CDT) | 5-6:30 p.m. (GMT) | 6-7:30 p.m. (CET) | 7-8:30 p.m. (EEST/MSK)
REGISTER

MONDAY, JUNE 7
Exploring the Eurasian Urban Spaces through Persian Verse

12-1:30pm (EDT) | 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (CDT) | 5-6:30 p.m. (GMT) | 6-7:30 p.m. (CET) | 7-8:30 p.m. (EEST/MSK)
REGISTER