Cultura Negra no Atlantico (CULTNA)

About the new series

Cultura Negra no Atlantico (CULTNA) is an initiative that brings together the Laboratório de História Oral e Imagem (LABHOI), at Universidade Federal Fluminense and Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora, and the Center for Latin American Studies at the University of Pittsburgh. Once a month we will discuss recent work with scholars and students interested in the topic. Discussions will be held in Portuguese.

Cultura Negra no Atlantico (CULTNA) é uma iniciativa que congrega o Laboratório de História Oral e Imagem (LABHOI) da Universidade Federal Fluminense e da Universidade Federal de Juiz de Fora, e o Center for Latin American Studies da University of Pittsburgh. Uma vez por mês, trabalhos recentes serão debatidos com especialistas e estudantes interessados no tema. As discussões serão realizadas em português. 

Spring 2021 Program

Thursday, March 11th, 4 pm EST // 6 pm Brazil time: "Diásporas imaginadas," with Kim Butler (Rutgers University) and Petronio Domingues (Universidade Federal do Sergipe)

 

Thursday, April 1st, 5 pm EDT // 6 pm Brazil time: "Descolonizando imaginários e saberes," with Clement A. Akassi (Howard University

Thursday, May 13th, 5 pm EDT // 6 pm Brazil time: "O massacre dos libertos," with Matheus Gato (Universidade Estadual de Campinas)

Thursday, June 10th, 5 pm EDT // 6 pm Brazil time: "A revolução dos ganhadores," with João José Reis (Universidade Federal da Bahia)